bytwilight's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The doctor at the clinic is a quack quack

So I've had this horribe sore throat for close to a month now. Maybe more, maybe less. I really can't remember. Anyway, it keeps getting worse. I've also been getting really really bad headaches for a couple months now. Yesterday was a pretty bad day, so Adam convinced me last night to go to one of those after-hours clinics.

Ever been to one of those? They suck.

The doctor who saw me was a quack. Seriously. He listened to my lungs. He looked in my nose. He looked in my ears. He looked in my mouth. He listened to me breathe some more. He decided I have an upper respiratory infection, and that my headaches are caused by that. Uh, no, dumbass. I've been getting these headaches since February. When I wasn't sick.

My prescription? Allegra-D.

That's an ALLERGY medicine. Allergies? Can someone explain to me why he would prescribe allergy medicine for an upper respiratory infection? Because I don't get it. He said it would clear up the congestion, and stop the drainage that's going down my throat. That makes no sense to me for two reasons:

A)I'm not congested.

B)I don't HAVE any drainage. My nose isn't stuffy OR runny. It's fine.

I should have diagnosed him with failure to listen to the damn patient. That's what I think. My freaking throat is cherry red and hurts like hell. You can see my swollen glands sticking out on the right side of my neck.

I need antibiotics. Not allergy medicine.

Especially not Allergy medicine that actually MAKES my nose run and drain down my throat, making it sorer and redder than it already is!! Seriously. I mean, for crying out loud. Look at the list of side effects:

Headache 13.0% 11.5% 17.4%
Insomnia 12.6% 3.2% 13.3%
Nausea 7.4% 0.5% 5.0%
Dry Mouth 2.8% 0.5% 5.5%
Dyspepsia 2.8% 0.5% 0.9%
Throat Irritation 2.3% 1.8% 0.5%
Dizziness 1.9% 0.0% 3.2%
Agitation 1.9% 0.0% 1.4%
Back Pain 1.9% 0.5% 0.5%
Palpitation 1.9% 0.0% 0.9%
Nervousness 1.4% 0.5% 1.8%
Anxiety 1.4% 0.0% 1.4%
Upper Respiratory Infection 1.4% 0.9% 0.9%
Abdominal Pain 1.4% 0.5% 0.5%

Do you see that towards the bottom? The line that says Upper Respiratory Infection?

Now, why the HELL would he prescribe Allegra to fight an upper respiratory infection when in truth, there's a chance that it could CAUSE ONE? Does that make sense??? I don't think so.

So, yeah. Suffice it to say I'm irritated. I didn't sleep for crap last night, and now I know why. Insomnia is yet another side effect. I've also had crazy dry mouth today. And that's less than pleasant with as sore as my throat has been.

Stupid quack. I think I'm going to call that clinic now and give them a piece of my mind.

2:20 pm - 04.23.2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Agamemnon81
Belladonna-
ByFirstlight
Cuddlebaby
EarlyGirl
Emogrrrl
Glistenen
Haman
Her-Journey
Joleen
Kangaroopoo
Lip
Lukeysmama
Me-Undaunted
Mommies
Mommy2Corrin
MonkeyMia
OnTheOutside
Opened-Up
Orpheusd0wn
Over-Now
Pixie531
Ray0fLight
Revolver
Rinramiel
Soleille
Sullen-Grrrl
Supermommy
Tiendasexo
TheFritz
Wicked-Sezzy
Katress