bytwilight's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still sick - still melodramatic

So...Third Eye Blind is playing a show at the Machine Shop tonight. Since nobody has even heard of the Machine Shop, it's a club by my house. Less than half a mile away, to be exact. And I can't go because I'm still sick! Argh. And they're like, right there. Boo. Grrr. Argh. Oh well. I'll live. Or maybe I won't considering SARS is trying to kill me (and yes, I'm still being overly dramatic).

My grandma, on the other hand, is overly dramatic on a regular basis, and actually was afraid I have SARS, so sent me an email with SARS information! I love her to pieces, but sometimes she's a little wacky.

However, I thought I'd post the info here, just because I'm nice like that. Here it is:

More than 2,500 cases of SARS have been reported so far. The primary symptoms for the virus known as severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) are high fever (greater than 38 C or 100.4 F), in addition to a dry cough, shortness of breath, or difficulties breathing.

Other possible symptoms include headache, muscular stiffness, loss of appetite, malaise, confusion, rash and diarrhea.

SARS is contagious by close contact. Close contact means having cared for, having lived with, or having had direct contact with respiratory secretions and body fluids of a person with SARS.

The length of time between exposure and symptoms showing are estimated to range from two to seven days.

The best treatment is still not clear. Standard antiviral drugs and antibiotics do not appear to be effective.

The illness can be severe but apart from the close contact with an infected patient is not thought to be highly contagious when simple protective precautions are taken.

Health experts say it is important to maintain good personal hygiene and good ventilation in home and working environments. Washing hands with liquid soap and using disposable towels is recommended.

Keeping windows open and putting on facemasks can also help prevent transmission of the infection.

U.S. and Canadian health officials also say travelers should consider postponing non-essential trips to areas at risk such as Hanoi, Vietnam; Hong Kong or Guangdong province in southern China; and Singapore.

So there you have it. A little bit about the illness that I don't really have, but am deathly afraid of getting.

And now I think I'm going to head over to Amazon and buy a book. Specifically A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks. I finally got around to watching it today, and it was really good. And apparently it's a true story, so now I want to read the whole thing.

6:49 pm - 04.08.2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Agamemnon81
Belladonna-
ByFirstlight
Cuddlebaby
EarlyGirl
Emogrrrl
Glistenen
Haman
Her-Journey
Joleen
Kangaroopoo
Lip
Lukeysmama
Me-Undaunted
Mommies
Mommy2Corrin
MonkeyMia
OnTheOutside
Opened-Up
Orpheusd0wn
Over-Now
Pixie531
Ray0fLight
Revolver
Rinramiel
Soleille
Sullen-Grrrl
Supermommy
Tiendasexo
TheFritz
Wicked-Sezzy
Katress