bytwilight's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What's wrong with just being a mom?

I hate it when people think they're somehow better than me because they have different goals in life.

If you're one of those people, you suck.

When I was a little kid, maybe 7 or 8, we had to write an essay called "When I Grow Up", and in it say what we wanted to do with our lives. Well, I wanted to get married and have babies. Even at the tender age of 7 (or 8), I knew that's what I wanted to do. I wanted to be just like my mom.

The teacher, on the other hand, didn't seem to think I had any right having that goal. She pulled me aside, and told me she wanted to know what I wanted to do for a job. "You can't just be a mom when you grow up. You have to make something of yourself."

So, I gave in and said I wanted to be a doctor. That seemed to please her, and she left it at that.

At least three more times in my school career, I had to write a similar essay. Because I didn't want to be chastised again, I always wrote grand tales of becoming a doctor, or a lawyer, or a teacher (that one got the highest grade). But it really wasn't what I wanted. I've always wanted to be a mom. The Ally McBeal life never really appealed to me in the same way.

It really bothers me that so many people look down on me for that. It's almost like they feel sorry for me. Because here I am, the same age as them, without a college degree or high-paying job. So what? I didn't choose their path in life, and there's nothing wrong with that. I could have, but I decided it wasn't for me. Not yet anyway.

Someday, I am going to have a bachelor's degree, maybe even a masters. Just not now. I don't even know for sure what I would want to do for the rest of my life. Right now I just want to have my own children. I want to take them to dance classes and hockey practices. I don't want a job to get in the way of that. Who are you to tell me that isn't good enough?

11:23 pm - 02.03.2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Agamemnon81
Belladonna-
ByFirstlight
Cuddlebaby
EarlyGirl
Emogrrrl
Glistenen
Haman
Her-Journey
Joleen
Kangaroopoo
Lip
Lukeysmama
Me-Undaunted
Mommies
Mommy2Corrin
MonkeyMia
OnTheOutside
Opened-Up
Orpheusd0wn
Over-Now
Pixie531
Ray0fLight
Revolver
Rinramiel
Soleille
Sullen-Grrrl
Supermommy
Tiendasexo
TheFritz
Wicked-Sezzy
Katress